Helen Ross Writes About Painted Black

Helen Ross is a children’s author and blogger who is doing her part to support independent authors and small presses on her blog Helen Ross Writes.  As part of that, she interviewed me about my path to publishing which includes a few tidbits about the evolution of Painted Black and my publisher New Libri Press.  She also posted an interview with New Libri author Acacia Awai last week about her YA novel Scales.

Click the link at the end of the excerpt below to read the whole article and find out more about Painted Black’s creation.

Painted Black has gone through several major revisions and was put away in a drawer several times thinking that was it.  I belonged to a  writers’ group for eleven years during that process and their input was invaluable to me.  I honestly don’t think it would be this good without them, which is why I give them a special thanks in the book.  The book also benefited from my growth as a writer thanks to books I’ve read on writing, to conferences I attended, to the simple act of writing, writing, writing.  Finally, my publishers at New Libri had excellent suggestions for ways to improve the commerciality of it without compromising my voice or the feel of the book.

via http://misshelenwrites.wordpress.com/2012/03/29/chatting-with-debra-borys-author-of-painted-black/

About dborys

Author of STREET STORIES suspense novels View all posts by dborys

3 responses to “Helen Ross Writes About Painted Black

  • Helen Ross

    That sounds like a great idea. It would be lovely catching up with you and all the other lovely authors that I have chatted with on my blog.

  • Helen Ross

    Hi Debra. What a lovely surprise to see my logo on your blog. Thanks so much, and thank you for chatting with me about your writing journey and the evolution of your novel, Painted Black. Wishing you every success.

Accessorize me:

