Kris Wampler Author Interview

Kris Wampler, author of Love Train, has a blog that highlights indie authors, which includes books that were self published or released by small presses.  Which means Painted Black qualifies!

Check out my author interview on the site.  I was also able to talk a little bit about the short stories I published and what I am doing to promote my work.

Debra Borys stays busy with a number of writing projects: from freelancing to writing novels. Having experience working with a start-up press, she gives insight about the amount of promotional work all authors must do, and some of the methods she’s already adopted.

via Debra Borys « Kris Wampler’s Blog.

More info on Kris’s book, Love Train, can be found here.

About dborys

Author of STREET STORIES suspense novels View all posts by dborys

2 responses to “Kris Wampler Author Interview

  • September Lynn Gray

    I’m a huge fan of Kris’s blog. I read your interview and was jealous to learn you found uploading your manuscripts so doable. I encountered so many technical difficulties I gave up. After blogging about my frustration, I calmed down and hired a professional formatter to format a 15,000 story for Smashwords and Amazon. Luckily, the charge was minimal for such a short novelette. HTML is not my strong point.
    I also want to wish you good luck on Painted Black, It’s one of the more original ideas I’ve heard in a while.

    • dborys

      Thanks for the compliment on Painted Black. I hope other readers find it original, too, and enjoy the story.

      I was so happy to find Kris’s blog and get a chance to be highlighted on it. I’ve got the site bookmarked now and intend to visit more often. It’s a great site.

      The short stories I uploaded were shorter than yours, sounds like, except for my Weeping Widows collection. So that might be one reason why I had less problems. Also, mine were simple files, no images, table of contents or anything like that. Amazon was the easiest–it was not much different than uploading a regular Word file.

      Smashwords took a little more work because it doesn’t like all the formatting codes Word uses, so I stripped out everything I could from the document before trying. It did take me a couple of uploads to get it to work right, though.

Accessorize me:

