Jo Meets Lexie

I hope you enjoy the attached excerpt from Painted Black

“Wait.” The word seemed to rush out of Lexie before she could think. They looked back. “I was wondering if, you know, if you could–” she looked at Jo, then quickly back at Keisha. “Could you buy me something to eat, maybe? I’m awful hungry.”

Jo had a second to picture this half naked child seated at a corner table set with fine linen and Waterford crystal before Keisha said, “How about a burrito?”

Eduardo’s, famous for a clam sauce made from Mediterranean shellfish and extra virgin olive oil, did not serve burritos. Felipe’s Taco and Burrito Place, however, did. As soon as they walked in the door of the little restaurant, they were hit by the smell of greasy meat. Keisha ordered and paid, then they found a booth near the counter to wait for their food.

About dborys

Author of STREET STORIES suspense novels View all posts by dborys

One response to “Jo Meets Lexie

  • dborys

    Reblogged this on Debra R. Borys and commented:

    The problem with having two blogs, one for my book and one for myself, is that sometimes I’m not sure which one to post a particular thought on. Typically only thoughts related to the book go on http://www.paintedblacknovel.com, of course, but often I would like those comments to be read by people who only go to http://www.debra-r-borys.com. Then WordPress came up with this reblogging option, which, if I’m doing it right, will allow me to “shadow” my posts from one site to the other. Here goes nothing–let’s see how it works.

Accessorize me:

